26 July 2014

AFC President's Cup finals

Kuala Lumpur: Hosts Sri Lanka Air Force have been pitted against the league champions of Turkmenistan and Nepal after the draw for the tenth and last edition finals of the AFC President’s Cup 2014 took place at AFC House on Friday.
Sri Lanka Air Force, who finished second in Group A during the qualifiers, sensationally outwitting last year’s finalists KRL Football Club of Pakistan, will face FC HTTU, the Turkmenistan debutant in the finals, as well as Nepali giants Manang Marsyangdi Club (MMC), who participated in the 2006 finals held in Kuching Malaysia.
The Sri Lankans will begin their campaign against MMC on September 20 and four days later they are set to face FC HTTU. All the matches will take place at the Sugathadasa Stadium in Colombo with the final scheduled for September 26. 
In Group B, the competition's highest ranked side Shaikh Russel Krira Chakra from Bangladesh meet seven-time Mongolian league champions Erchim and DPR Korea debutant Rimyongsu FC, who finished behind FC HTTU in the qualifiers.
The finals will be played in September with the group winners facing each other in the final to determine the tenth and the last winner of the competition.
The AFC President’s Cup started in 2005 with Nepal hosting the finals. The Colombo final will be the last edition of the competition which will be superseded by AFC Cup qualifiers from 2015 onwards. 


1 comment:

  1. Nice post, Keep updating these kinds of turnament updates. I will be following you from Nepal. Also see my blog: http://bloggerssansar.blogspot.com